‘So Proud of You Mom’ by Shayla Dawn Szabo

Katheren Szabo, Woman of Courage, at Saturday’s celebration

So honoured to have attended the Women who Named the Unnamed tonight, and so proud to hear my mom speak and open the event- such powerful messages and inspiration throughout the entire event.

Shayla Dawn Szabo at ‘Women Who Named the Unnamed’

I can’t put the words together to tell you how amazing it was. I’m in complete agreement with our friend Teresa who spoke to us at the intermission of how this should be an event that should reach schools and be televised and reoccurring to reach, inspire and touch the hearts and minds of the many whom it would definitely impact.


Third and the last Sequence, Celebrate the (here) and Now, Guests and the Hosts

Thank-you Fauzia, and Mariam and all who brought together ‘The Women who Named the Unnamed’, thank you Mom, for you truly are The Woman of Courage and so much more in my heart and in many others’.

Thank you Teresa and Rella for the gift of your company and support for my mom.


Katheren’s voice reaches out as a Woman of Courage

Thank you Mom, you have given your all to lift and love. You make me so proud. You give me hope, community, courage, choice, empowerment, confidence, so much love and so much more, you are a leading example to me and you are the best mom I could ever have asked for. So deeply blessed to journey in life as your daughter… and to stand beside you as I grow and learn through experience. To follow your lead, and to take steps on my own with tools you have taught me and continue to teach. I love you.


Shayla on Centre Stage 

Based on Shayla’s Facebook post published on the evening of September 28

Read Katheren’s story
‘Katheren Szabo: The Heart of Newton’ by Zoë J. Dagneault

View our objectives and goals.

We gratefully acknowledge
that we are on the unceded Coast Salish territories of
the Semiahmoo, Katzie, Kwikwetlem, Kwantlen,
Qayqayt, Tsawwassen, Musqueam,
Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations.

..